The monastery was declared a National Monument in 1907, and features an extension wing which is harmonious in architectural and constructional style: a jewel set on the green banks of the River Sella, in whose waters the hotel building is reflected. In the background, guests can contemplate the majestic landscape of the Picos de Europa. This historical, family friendly hotel, featuring comfortable and modern facilities, is the ideal base from which to discover the delights of the Asturian landscape, to enjoy its traditional local festivals and ancestral folklore and to sample the best and most authentic of its rich gastronomic tradition. The hotel is ideal for holidaymakers and business travellers alike, and comprises a total of 64 rooms. The following facilities are on offer to guests: air conditioning, a lobby area with a 24-hour reception desk, a hotel safe, a currency exchange facility, 3 lifts, a café, a TV lounge, a restaurant, and conference facilities. Guests may also take advantage of the WLAN/Internet access (charges apply), and the room and laundry services (an additional fee applies to both). There is parking for those arriving by car and a playground for younger guests.
Tradition has it that King Alfonso I 'The Catholic' constructed this building on 21 February 746, and the excavations carried out at the start of the refurbishing work to turn it into a hotel confirm this theory. The current monastery was founded on this site and was run by the Order of San Benito until the Desamortización of 1835 (Large-scale selling of State and Church assets). Two rooms with archaeological remains, pottery in particular, uncovered during the refurbishing work are testament to this distant past. The town centre of Cangas de Onis lies some 1 1/2 km away and it is around 95 km to Oviedo-Aviles Airport.
The rooms come with a private bathroom with a bathtub as well as a hairdryer, satellite/ cable TV, Internet access, a minibar, individually adjustable air conditioning and heating and a safe.
Activities on offer include canoeing (charges apply), bicycle hire (charges apply), archery (charges apply), horse riding on bridle paths (charges apply), mountaineering, river fishing, golf (charges apply) and trekking.
Guests may select their breakfast from a buffet, whereas the midday and evening meals are available from a set menu or may be enjoyed à la carte.
American Express, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard and VISA are accepted.
The Parador is located on the right bank of the River Sella in Villanueva, 2 km from the town of Cangas de Onís. The main access roads are the N-634 (Oviedo-Santander), and from Arriondas (3 km), the N-625 which links up with Castilla y Leon. Starting from Cangas de Onís and taking the AS-114, travellers may gain access to Covadonga and the eastern-most parts of Asturias and western Cantabria.
Free Parking. 24 hours reception desk.
Satellite cable TV