The history of the house dates back to the Romanesque period. In the late 12th century the powerful bishop, Prince Jind?ich B?etislav, had a vast court built as a new bishop's seat on the left bank of the Vltava River. The present appearance of the house, recalling its ancient origin only by the name, is the result of a six-year reconstruction of the 16th-century building that was finished in 1843. After a thorough reconstruction finished in 1999, the house was adapted for hotel purposes. The hotel offers 42 well equipped rooms, a restaurant, café and bicycle rental (charges apply). In addition to a lobby area with 24-hour reception and check-out services, hotel safe and a currency exchange desk, further facilities available to guests at this family-friendly city hotel include WLAN Internet access and room and laundry services (fees apply).The historic and romantic atmosphere is underlined by wooden period furniture. From the top floor rooms there is a wonderful view of Prague Castle and the picturesque Lesser Town rooftops. All rooms have comfort bathrooms with a tub or a shower and a hairdryer. The rooms are equipped with a minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, safety deposit box, direct dial telephone and a TV set with satellite reception. Cable Internet connection is available and centrally regulated air conditioning units come as standard in all rooms. Equipment in the guest rooms as well as all public areas meets EU safety and fire protection standards.